Week 2… Keep your hands up

2 weeks in.  Well, I’m officially training to be a boxer.  I’m jumping rope, I’m shadowboxing in the mirror, I’m hitting the bag… over and over and over.  My shoulders are on fire, my wrists are sore, I’m dropping weight like I’m on a crash diet… and I’m loving it.

I’ll admit I felt (and sometimes still do) a little frustrated with all the repetition of what I felt to be basic things I already know.  I’m not starting entirely from scratch.  I’ve worked out with boxing trainers before, I’ve taken classes, I think I at least kinda know what I’m doing.  But Harry says I’ve gotta pretend I’m in driving school and have never driven a car before.  I do have a few bad habits, little things to correct.  And there is no substitute for repetition.  And so I spend my days- jab, jab, cross, hook… jab, jab, cross, hook.  And then just that about a hundred more times.

When the impatience/frustration creeps in, I remind myself of my time with Guru in Nepal.  How I didn’t understand his training at first either, but realized soon it was all part of a larger plan… just like Yoda and Mr Miyagi.  I also remind myself of how I ended up where I am in life just now-  2-3 months of impatience mired in what I thought at the time was a frustrating job search that ultimately led me exactly where I was supposed to be.  I love my life, my job, my apartment.  Those months were a reminder of to be patient and just trust the process… And so I will now too.  I had initially sought out a different trainer at Mendez, a guy I had met at a different gym named Ro.  But when I met with Ro he introduced me to Harry , saying he would be a better match to get my arm raised after my fight.  And so I trust in this as well.  I was meant to meet and work with this guy, and now I just have to trust him… and the process.

Fundraising!

I posted my site, with an intro video on FB that linked to my boxer profile/donation page and also to my blog.  My friend Jon Halvorson was my first donor, buying the box nearest my corner for 6K!  In the 4 days since, I’ve raised almost another 4K from family and friends!  I’m almost at my Haymakers goal of 10K and halfway to my personal goal of 20K… and I’m just getting started.  I have a bunch of ideas for fundraising events btw now and Nov 15.  Keep the donations coming!  I really appreciate it…

New this week:

Speedbag!  Always wanted to learn how to hit this… thought it looked so cool growing up.  Harry got me on it this week and I think I picked it up pretty quickly!  Fixed a few ‘mechanical’ things with my left hook, feels much more natural now (given the new way Harry has me throwing it).

What I think I’m doing well:

Making time.  Sticking with the training.  Eating well.  Running.  Trying to learn not only from Harry, but others at the gym as well.  Fundraising.

Where I need to improve:

Keeping my hands up!  Cardio.  Conserving energy.  Footwork and balance.  Relaxing my shoulders (lifelong challenge).

What’s next:

Getting my first taste of sparring this week!  Should be interesting as I’ve never in my life been punched before (nor have I really punched anyone!).

 

That’s it for now, wish me luck!

Thanks for reading.  Much love and bliss…

B

Leave a comment